For the first 38 years of the club’s existence, there was no reference to an award given to the ‘Best and Fairest’ player of any season. It wasn’t until 1897, when Joe McShane was publicly honoured, that there was an award for the most outstanding player for a season. From this time until 1926, an honour for the most outstanding player occurred annually, with a few exceptions. It is suggested that supporters of the club donated a trophy to be presented to the winner, for example, in 1928 and 1929, the award was named the “Fred Walker Cup”, named after a jeweller in Moorabool St. However, if there was no donor, no award would be given for that season.

From 1926 onwards, winners have been named at the end of every season in which the club has competed. 1944 saw the introduction of the Jim Knight Memorial Trophy, named in honour of a former player killed during WWII flying operations. This award was the sole trophy for the best and fairest award, until 1951, which saw the Ford Cup being introduced. This cup was arranged by Mr Charles Smith, who was the managing director of the Ford Motor Company.

1962 saw the club move to honour one of its past champions in the form of the Best and Fairest award. This saw the creation of the ‘Carji’ Greeves medal, in honour of 1924 Brownlow Medallist and 1925 Premiership Player Edward ‘Carji’ Greeves.

Edward 'Carji' Greeves. Credit: Bob Gartland Collection.

The following announcement featured in the GFC Annual Report.

"To commemorate the performance of 'Carji' Greeves in winning the first Brownlow Medal the Committee has seen fit to institute the 'Carji' Greeves Medal as the award for the player winning the Club's Best and Fairest. It is fitting, therefore, that in the first year of this award the recipient is Alistair Lord, the Brownlow Medallist for 1962.

The medal is of gold with the words 'Carji' Greeves Award appearing in a scroll surrounded by the inscription Geelong Football Club - Best and Fairest."