GEELONG has made three changes to its team that will play St Kilda in Round 9 at Marvel Stadium on Saturday.

Skipper Joel Selwood and ruckman Rhys Stanley return to the side after missing last week’s victory against the Giants in Canberra.

Two players that impressed on debut in that victory were Mitch Knevitt and Cooper Stephens.

This week they’ll switch roles with Knevitt getting an opportunity within the starting line-up, while Stephens will be Geelong’s medical substitute.

“They certainly played well enough to hold their spots,” senior coach Chris Scott said at Wednesday’s press conference.

“We do have a couple coming back, Stanley and Selwood, so that makes it more difficult for them. I think the most important thing to convey is that we thought they played well enough to play AFL footy the next week. 

“That's the most important part... long term in their development that they were able to come in and look like they were comfortable at the level.” 

Jed Bews will miss for the Cats following the AFL’s concussion protocols and Francis Evans has been omitted.

Geelong's clash with the St Kilda on Saturday at Marvel Stadium will commence at 4.35pm and be televised on Fox Footy.

Milestone Alert

Chris Scott has coached 184 wins from 268 games, equal with Reg Hickey's Club record of 184 wins (304 games) and requires one more win to move to outright first.

Patrick Dangerfield requires two goals to reach 150 goals for each of his two clubs (163 goals for Adelaide Crows, 148 goals for Geelong). 

Round 9 Team

INS: Joel Selwood, Rhys Stanley, Mitch Knevitt

OUTS: Jed Bews (Injured), Francis Evans (Omitted), Cooper Stephens (Omitted - will be named as substitute an hour prior to start time)

Backs Mark Blicavs Sam De Koning Zach Guthrie
Half Backs Jake Kolodjashnij Tom Stewart Tom Atkins
Centreline Mitch Duncan Patrick Dangerfield Zach Tuohy
Half Forwards Isaac Smith Jeremy Cameron Gryan Miers
Forwards Brad Close Tom Hawkins Tyson Stengle
Followers Rhys Stanley Brandan Parfitt Joel Selwood
Interchange Mark O'Connor Cameron Guthrie Mitch Knevitt
  Quinton Narkle    
Emergencies Cooper Stephens Oliver Dempsey Francis Evans
  Luke Dahlhaus