Geelong’s 2020 Fixture has landed with the Cats to host four matches at GMHBA Stadium in a win for local fans.

As confirmed in the Collective Bargaining Agreement signed on Monday, the season will run for eight home-and-away rounds, with three weeks of finals.

With fourteen sides in the competition for the first time (Gold Coast, Richmond, St Kilda and West Coast are all new), teams will once again be split into two conferences.

Teams will play every side in its conference once, as well as two "cross-over" matches with sides from the other pool.

The Cats will open their season against the Dockers at Fremantle Oval on Sunday 9 February.

Games against Brisbane and reigning premier Adelaide will follow at GMHBA Stadium in what shapes as a challenging opening three weeks of the season.

Geelong's round seven clash against the Giants will be a historic moment for the competition as both sides will feature in an AFLW/AFL double-header for premiership points.

The Cats will round out the season by hosting Collingwood at GMHBA Stadium.

“Four games at GMHBA Stadium across the AFLW season is a great result. It gives our members and supporters the best opportunity to get behind our AFLW team and show their support at games,” Geelong’s Acting CEO Simon Kelleher said.

“Season 2019 was a history-making year for the club with the launch of our AFLW team. We are looking forward to taking another step forward in 2020 and seeing the support for our women grow.”

Geelong sits in conference A alongside the Adelaide Crows, North Melbourne, GWS Giants, Brisbane Lions, Gold Coast Suns and Richmond Tigers.

Highlights of Geelong’s 2020 AFLW Fixture

  • Geelong will host four home games at GMHBA Stadium against the Brisbane Lions, Adelaide Crows, Kangaroos and Collingwood.
  • The Cats will hit the road to Bendigo in round 4, lining up against new AFLW team Richmond.
  • Geelong to host North Melbourne at GMHBA Stadium on a Friday night in round 6.
  • Three games broadcast live and free on Channel 7.
  • Opportunities for Geelong supporters in Western Australia, Queensland and New South Wales to see the AFLW Cats in action with three interstate trips.


Adelaide (first in A in 2019, premiers)
North Melbourne (third in A in 2019)
Geelong (second in B in 2019)
Greater Western Sydney (third in B in 2019)
Brisbane (fourth in B in 2019)
Gold Coast (new team)
Richmond (new team)

Fremantle (second in A in 2019)
Melbourne (fourth in A in 2019)
Western Bulldogs (fifth in A in 2019)
Carlton (first in B in 2019)
Collingwood (fifth in B in 2019)
St Kilda (new team)
West Coast (new team)