Patrick Dangerfield has received maximum coaches' votes for his influential performance in Geelong's 11-point comeback victory against the Western Bulldogs on Friday night.

Down by 37 points early in the second term, Dangerfield willed his side back into the game, throwing himself into every contest and using the football brilliantly.

He finished with a game-high 32 disposals, 10 score involvements and six clearances to receive 10 votes from coaches' Chris Scott and Luke Beveridge to move up to 14th overall on the AFLCA Champion Player of the Year Leaderboard.

04:55 Mins
Published on

Roaming Stewy in the rooms

Tom Stewart takes you around the rooms after the comeback win over the Dogs. Presented by Ford.

Published on

Tom Stewart and Jed Bews each received four votes.

After quarter time Geelong conceded only seven scoring shots from the next 21 entries and both players were important down back.

Stewart was a consistent performer from siren to siren providing plenty of his customary run off half back gathering 22 disposals (96% efficiency) and game-high nine marks.

Bews won 13 disposals but made every single possession count operating at 100%. He did a lot of hard work around the stoppages and had four clearances. 

06:38 Mins
Published on

Match Highlights (R14)

The Bulldogs and Cats clash in round 14

Published on

When the Cats were down by three points deep in the final quarter it was Bews who beat three Dogs and fired out a handball that started the possession chain that led to Hawkins giving Geelong the lead at the other end for the first time on the night.  

Gary Rohan's spirited performance saw him receive one vote.

He brought the heat to Metricon Stadium with some brilliant chase downs and once again showed he doesn't need a lot of the ball to hurt the opposition.

Rohan's hard work was rewarded in the final term by kicking the match sealer.

Cameron Guthrie remains Geelong's best placed Cat on this year's AFLCA Champion Player of the Year Award leaderboard in equal sixth.  


10 Patrick Dangerfield (GEEL)
6 Lachie Hunter (WB)
4 Tom Stewart (GEEL)
4 Jed Bews (GEEL)
2 Marcus Bontempelli (WB)
2 Caleb Daniel (WB)
1 Gary Rohan (GEEL)
1 Hayden Crozier (WB)


75 Lachie Neale (BL)
57 Travis Boak (PORT)
54 Christian Petracca (MELB)
52 Jack Steele (STK)
51 Taylor Adams (COLL)
48 Cameron Guthrie (GEEL)
48 Nic Naitanui (WC)
48 Zach Merrett (ESS)
40 Jack Macrae (WB)
40 Marcus Bontempelli (WB)
37 Zak Jones (STK)
37 Dustin Martin (RICH)
34 Patrick Dangerfield (GEEL)
34 Angus Brayshaw (FRE)
34 Clayton Oliver (MELB)
32 Todd Goldstein (NM)
32 Scott Pendlebury (COLL)
31 Jarrod Witts (GC)