Tom Hawkins has received maximum votes from coaches' Chris Scott and Ken Hinkley for his brilliant six-goal performance in Geelong's big win against Port Adelaide in Round 12.

The 32-year-old produced one of the most dominant performances by a forward in recent memory clunking seven contested marks and finishing with four goal-assists.

Hawkins' outstanding performance saw him move up to 19th on this year's AFLCA Champion Player of the Year Leaderboard, equal with captain Joel Selwood on 27 votes.

Hawkins' performance in attack would not have been possible without the efforts of his midfielders who dominated the possession count, and the defensive group who setup brilliantly behind the ball and kept Port Adelaide to just four goals for the game.

06:07 Mins
Published on

Match Highlights (R12)

The Cats and Power clash in round 12

Published on

After spending most of the previous two games in Geelong's forward 50, Patrick Dangerfield started the game against the Power in the guts and was instrumental from the outset. 

He received eight votes after compiling 24 disposals, five clearances and a game-high 575 metres gained.

Mark Blicavs and Cameron Guthrie received four votes each.

The ultimate team man, Blicavs started on a wing before spending time in the ruck and down back. 

He led the clearance count for the Cats with six and finished with 21 disposals (86% efficiency).

03:20 Mins
Published on

Roaming Rhys

Rhys Stanley chats to Tuohy, Taylor and Henderson. Presented by Ford.

Published on

Guthrie took his vote tally to 38 for the year after another consistent four-quarter performance.

The 27-year-old currently sits eighth on this year's leaderboard after recording a game-high 27 touches and five tackles.

Harry Taylor (three votes) and Sam Menegola (one vote) completed a clean sweep for the Cats.

Taylor held Port key forward Charlie Dixon goalless, while Menegola was a strong performer on the outside for the Cats with 21 disposals and a goal.

Geelong v Port Adelaide

10 Tom Hawkins (GEEL)
8 Patrick Dangerfield (GEEL)
4 Mark Blicavs (GEEL)
4 Cameron Guthrie (GEEL)
3 Harry Taylor (GEEL)
1 Sam Menegola (GEEL)


72 Lachie Neale BL
50 Christian Petracca MELB
47 Travis Boak PORT
44 Jack Steele STK
41 Taylor Adams COLL
40 Nic Naitanui WCE
39 Jack Macrae WB
38 Cameron Guthrie GEEL
36 Zach Merrett ESS
31 Jarrod Witts GCFC
30 Todd Goldstein NMFC
30 Matthew Rowell GCFC
29 Jack Viney MELB
28 Andrew Brayshaw FRE
28 Charlie Dixon PORT
28 Toby Greene GWS
28 Dustin Martin RICH
28 Clayton Oliver MELB
27 Tom Hawkins GEEL
27 Joel Selwood GEEL
27 Ollie Wines PORT