GEELONG captain Joel Selwood will write his name into the history books and become the club's first ever four-time premiership player, should the Cats overcome Richmond in Saturday night's Toyota AFL Grand Final.

In a decider laden with premiership experience, there are also 14 Tigers who will look to become triple-premiership players should Damien Hardwick's team record its third flag in four seasons.

But it's Selwood who could make the most history, with the Geelong skipper the sole survivor of all three Cats teams that tasted the game's ultimate success in 2007, 2009 and 2011.

Joel Selwood and Tom Hawkins with the 2009 Premiership Cup.

Selwood, Harry Taylor, Tom Hawkins and Mitch Duncan were all part of the team that claimed the 2011 premiership and remain entrenched in Geelong's current side, while Cam Guthrie was also at the club in that season but was not picked for the Grand Final.

Club legend Gary Ablett, who will be looking for his third premiership, was part of the teams that claimed glory in 2007 and 2009. However, he left for Gold Coast in 2010 and wasn't part of the 2011 premiership.

READ - Shades of Lethal in Little Master's last dance

Elsewhere at Geelong, Luke Dahlhaus has enjoyed flag experience with the Western Bulldogs in 2016 and is aiming to become a dual premiership player with a second club this weekend.

Luke Dahlhaus won a premiership at the Western Bulldogs in 2016.

Meanwhile, Gary Rohan was part of two losing Grand Final teams with Sydney in both 2014 and 2016 but will be looking to right the wrongs of years gone by and win his first premiership on Saturday night.

While there are 16 Cats players aiming for their first taste of success, there is only one Tiger – young defender Noah Balta – who is set to play on Saturday night without having already won a flag.

A total of 14 Richmond players (Nathan Broad, Dylan Grimes, Nick Vlastuin, Bachar Houli, Dion Prestia, Dustin Martin, Jason Castagna, Jack Riewoldt, Toby Nankervis, Shane Edwards, Trent Cotchin, David Astbury, Daniel Rioli and Kane Lambert) could become triple-premiership stars with victory.

00:41 Mins
Published on

Show your colours!

Wear your blue and white with pride and show your support at home or far away as we head to our first Grand Final in 9 years!

Published on

There are seven more (Liam Baker, Kamdyn McIntosh, Marlion Pickett, Jack Graham, Tom Lynch, Shai Bolton and Jayden Short) who played in one of either the 2017 or 2019 premiership teams.

But the premiership history doesn't end with the players ahead of Saturday night's Grand Final at the Gabba. The coaches, too, have also had their special moments on Grand Final day.

Hardwick was a premiership player with Essendon in 2000 and Port Adelaide in 2004, as well as leading Richmond to the 2017 and 2019 flags as a coach.

Meanwhile, Chris Scott won two premierships as a player with Brisbane in 2001 and 2002 – but was named as an emergency in 2003 – before leading Geelong to the 2011 flag as a coach.



B: Jack Henry (0), Harry Taylor (2), Jake Kolodjashnij (0)
HB: Lachie Henderson (0), Mark Blicavs (0), Tom Stewart (0)
C: Mitch Duncan (1), Joel Selwood (3), Sam Menegola (0)
HF: Luke Dahlhaus (1), Gary Rohan (0), Gryan Miers (0)
F: Gary Ablett (2), Tom Hawkins (2), Sam Simpson (0)
FOLL: Rhys Stanley (0), Patrick Dangerfield (0), Cam Guthrie (0)
I/C: Mark O'Connor (0), Brandan Parfitt (0), Zach Tuohy (0), Jed Bews (0)
Coach: Chris Scott (3)
Total Premierships: 14


B: Nathan Broad (2), Dylan Grimes (2), Noah Balta (0)
HB: Liam Baker (1), Nick Vlastuin (2), Bachar Houli (2)
C: Kamdyn McIntosh (1), Dion Prestia (2), Marlion Pickett (1)
HF: Jack Graham (1), Tom Lynch (1), Dustin Martin (2)
F: Jason Castagna (2), Jack Riewoldt (2), Shai Bolton (1)
FOLL: Toby Nankervis (2), Shane Edwards (2), Trent Cotchin (2)
I/C: David Astbury (2), Jayden Short (1), Daniel Rioli (2), Kane Lambert (2)
Coach: Damien Hardwick (4)
Total Premierships: 39