Charlotte Simpson celebrates her first-ever VFLW goal. Photo: Arj Giese

Charlotte Simpson has been recognised for her outstanding VFLW season by winning the Lambert-Pearce Medal for the VFLW's best and fairest.

The 19-year-old shared the award with Box Hill Hawk teammates Jordan Mifsud and Akayla Peterson in a three-way tie. The trio ended tied on 14 votes in a thrilling count where all three winners polled votes in the final round of the season.

It capped a breakout rebel VFLW season for Simpson after claiming Geelong Cats’ Best and Fairest Award earlier in the year.

Simpson, who played her first full season of VFLW this year, averaged 22.8 disposals, 6.7 clearances and 5.5 tackles a game, playing a leading role in Geelong’s midfield.

Having made four VFLW appearances last season when she was still playing underage football with the Geelong Falcons, Simpson showed in 2023 she could be a dominant force.


Simpson was also the recipient of the Debbie Lee Rising Star Medal and was named in the VFLW team of the year.

The JJ Liston Trophy count for the VFL best and fairest also took place on Monday night where Ollie Dempsey was the highest placed Cat finishing in equal 10th. 


Charlotte Simpson (Geelong) - 14
Jordan Mifsud (Box Hill Hawks) - 14
Akayla Peterson (Box Hill Hawks) - 14
Jessica Bates (Collingwood) - 13
Emily Eaves (Williamstown) - 12
Shannon Danckert (Casey Demons) - 11
Tahlia Meier (Western Bulldogs) - 11
Ashlee Thorneycroft (Carlton) - 11
Nyakoat Dojiok (Collingwood) - 10
Jessica Jones (North Melbourne) - 10
Winnie Laing (Southern Saints) - 10


Jarryd Lyons (Brisbane) - 26
Boyd Woodcock (Southport) - 24
Tom Gribble (Werribee) - 21
Lachlan Sullivan (Footscray) - 21
Shaun Mannagh (Werribee) - 19
Luke Dunstan (Casey Demons) - 18
Paddy Dow (Carlton) - 17
Harvey Hooper (Port Melbourne) - 17
Jacob Dawson (Southport) - 15
Callum Brown (Box Hill) - 14
Brayden Crossley (Southport) - 14
Oliver Dempsey (Geelong) - 14