Sam De Koning has been voted by fans as into the AFL Player Association’s 22under22 final team it’s been announced today. 

The 22under22, presented by Snaffle, is a fan-voted concept that recognises the best 22 players aged 22 and under for the 2023 season. 

For a player to be eligible for selection, they had to have played at least 50% of the season (12 matches).


De Koning was one of three Cats in the initial squad of 44 alongside Max Holmes and Oliver Henry, but finished as the only player voted into the final team with 79% of fans including the key defender in their team of the year.

Only five players, Nick Daicos (Collingwood), Jamarra Ugle-Hagan (Western Bulldogs), Harry Sheezel (North Melbourne), Luke Jackson (Fremantle), and Kysiah Picket (Melbourne) were selected in more teams than De Koning.

Backs Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera Sam De Koning Miles Bergman
Half Backs Nick Daicos (c) Hayden Young Harry Sheezel
Centreline Errol Gulden Caleb Serong Will Ashcroft
Half Forwards Mitch Owens Jamarra Ugle-Hagan Cody Weightman
Forwards Kysiah Pickett Jye Amiss Josh Rachele
Followers Luke Jackson Tom Green Jai Newcombe (vc)
Interchange Bailey Smith Chad Warner Will Day
  Noah Anderson