Young guns Max Holmes, Ollie Henry and Sam De Koning have been named in the initial AFLPA 22under22 squad 

Three of Geelong’s young guns have been named in the initial AFL Players’ Association 22under22 squad, released on Thursday. 

Forward Ollie Henry, midfielder Max Holmes and defender Sam De Koning have all been named in the squad of 44, which will now be voted on by fans. 

The 22under22, presented by Snaffle, is a fan-voted concept that recognises the best 22 players aged 22 and under for the entirety of the season. For a player to be eligible for the squad of 44, they are required to have played at least 50 per cent of season games (12 matches). 

Vote now! Select your 22under22 team 

Henry, in his first season with the Cats, has become a weapon in attack in his most prolific season to date, averaging 10.6 disposals, 1.5 tackles and 3.7 marks a game, as well as kicking 34 goals and counting. 


The 21-year-old has become a threat up forward, with his tenacious approach to marking contests, and his ability to find the goals. He was prolific early against Port Adelaide on the weekend, kicking three goals in the first term on his way to four to the match, giving the Cats a strong foundation. 

Holmes has stepped up with more time on the ball this season to complement his outside game, averaging 19.2 disposals and 4.6 tackles a game in 2023. 

The 20-year-old’s dashing runs have been an asset for a number of seasons, but Holmes has also revelled in the chance to spend more time in the coalface at contests. 

De Koning has continued to build a strong resume as a young key defender, averaging 11.8 disposals, 4.4 marks and 4.5 spoils per game. 

Despite being just 22, De Koning is regularly tasked with dangerous opposition forwards and gives a good account of himself week-in, week-out, and is rarely beaten in a one-on-one. 

De Koning was named in the 2022 22under22 team, while Holmes and Henry are named in the initial squad for the first time. 

Voting for the 22under22 team is open from August 10-17, with the final team to be announced on August 23.