The Geelong Cats have finalised player recontracting following the club’s inaugural season. Twenty-four players have accepted contracted offers that will see them remain in the navy and white hoops.

The primary list consists of 22 players - Cassie Blakeway, Madeleine Boyd, Rene Caris, Georgia Clarke

Rocky Cranston, Julia Crockett-Grills, Kate Darby, Olivia Deane-Purcell, Renee Garing, Bec Goring, Melissa Hickey, Jordan Ivey, Madeline Keryk, Meghan McDonald, Phoebe McWilliams, Nina Morrison, Aasta O'Connor, Danielle Orr, Denby Taylor, Anna Teague, Sophie Van De Heuvel and Rebecca Webster. Maddy McMahon and Georgie Rankin remain on the rookie list.

Six players – Hannah Burchell, Mia-Rae Clifford, Elise Coventry, Maighan Fogas, Erin Hoare and Hayley Trevean have not been recontracted.

“With four new clubs entering the AFLW competition in 2020, we had a strong focus on ensuring we maintained the bulk of our list,” Geelong’s AFLW Operations & Recruiting Manager Ben Waller said.

“We are pleased to have reached agreements with 24 players and look forward to the continued development of our list.

“Inevitably at the end of every season, we see players move on. Hannah, Mia-Rae, Elise, Maighan, Erin and Hayley have all been significant players for us over our journey in women’s football, and they should be proud of the contributions they have made to the club. We wish them well in their future endeavours and hope that they can continue on their football journeys. They will always be important to our club and we hope to see them at GMHBA Stadium in the future.”

The Cats women’s program debuted in 2017 in VFLW. After making the VFLW Grand Final in 2018, Geelong entered the AFLW for 2019, making it through to the preliminary final before going down to eventual premiers, Adelaide.