Prior to last year's inaugural Powercor Country Festival game against Essendon, the Geelong Cats Team of the Country was released. 

Complied by Cats historian Col Hutchinson and published in the Weekly Times, the team is a star-studded side made up of players from regional areas of four of Australia’s states.

Names such as Davis, Ablett, Farmer and Selwood give the Cats side both incredible skill and toughness and would give any representative team a run for their money.

On the eve of the second Powercor Country Festival game, we present the team to you again.

Geelong Cats' Team of the Country

B: Corey Enright – Kimba, SA (332 games), Harry Taylor – Geraldton, WA (231 games), George ‘Jocka’ Todd – Queenscliff, VIC (232 games)

HB: Dick Grigg – Drysdale, VIC (194 games), Reg Hickey – Lismore, VIC (245 games), Mark Bos – Wandella, VIC (195 games)

C: Wayne Closter – Bacchus Marsh, VIC (191 games), Edward ‘Carji’ Greeves – Cressy, VIC (124 games), Michael Turner – Warrnambool, VIC (245 games)

HF: Bob Davis – Clunes, VIC (189 games), Fred Flanagan – Swan Hill, VIC (163 games), Steve Johnson – Wangaratta, VIC (233 games)

F: Gary Ablett Snr – Drouin, VIC (242 games), Doug Wade – Horsham, VIC (208 games), Gary Ablett Jnr – Modewarre, VIC (306 games)

R: Graham ‘Polly’ Farmer – Katanning, WA (101 games), Garry Hocking – Cobram, VIC (274 games), Billy Goggin – Lethbridge, VIC (248 games)

IC: Paul Couch – Nirranda, VIC (259 games), Tom Hawkins – Finley, NSW (217 games), Joel Selwood – Sandhurst, VIC (257 games), Mark Bairstow – Lake Grace, WA (146 games) 

EMG: Jack Hawkins – Finley, NSW (182 games), Peter Pianto – Eaglehawk, VIC (121 games), Lindsay White – Orford, VIC (117 games)