Evergreen Geelong spearhead Tom Hawkins has received the maximum number of votes from both coaches after his career high eight goal performance against Essendon on Sunday.

Hawkins’ haul took him to 22 in total for season and 17 in the past three rounds, the record breaking kick coming 20 minutes into the final term. The 34-year-old added 12 marks and 13 score involvements to his line and ended his afternoon with the Tom Wills Award for the best player on the ground in the Cats’ 28-point win.


Patrick Dangerfield continued his purple patch of form, amassing 28 disposals, 15 inside 50s and ten clearances to go with his eight votes, while Tom Stewart (3 votes) and Mark Blicavs (2 votes) rounded out the voting for the Cats.

Dangerfield now sits in fifth place on the AFLCA Champion Player of the Year Leaderboard with 32 votes, one behind teammate Jeremy Cameron with 33 and in equal second place with Bulldog Marcus Bontempelli.

The AFL Coaches Association’s AFL Champion Player Award is an award voted by the 18 coaching panels on a 5,4,3,2,1 basis after each home and away game, acknowledging outstanding effort by an individual player in a season.

Round 7 Votes

10 - Tom Hawkins (Geel)                                     
8 - Patrick Dangerfield (Geel)                             
6- Jake Stringer (Ess)                                       
3 - Tom Stewart (Geel)                                      
2 - Mark Blicavs (Geel)                                      
1 - Sam Weideman (Ess)                                   


45 - Nick Daicos (Coll)                                        
33 - Marcus Bontempelli (WB)                             
33- Jeremy Cameron (Geel)                               
33- Christian Petracca (Melb)                             
32 - Patrick Dangerfield (Geel)                            
29 Toby Greene (GWS)                                    
29 Clayton Oliver (Melb)                                    
29- Jack Sinclair (STK)                                       
28 - Charlie Curnow (Carl)                                     
28 Jordan De Goey (Coll)