Main content

Who makes the cut?

Esava Ratugolea could be set for a round one return against the Pies - Geelong Cats
Esava Ratugolea could be set for a round one return against the Pies

With club lists all but settled for the 2019 season, have tackled the big task of picking Geelong's best 22 to take on Collingwood in round one next season.

TEAM EXPLAINED: Veteran Harry Taylor was forced to fight for his spot late in 2018 and with the emergence of Jack Henry and Mark Blicavs in defence, the dual All Australian misses out. A larger than expected rehab group featuring Lachie Fogarty, Jordan Cunico and Nakia Cockatoo has them behind the pack for round one action. As a result, Jake Kolodjashnij holds on for now, despite a fight on his hands to maintain his spot with first-round draftee Jordan Clark to be in consideration once he's overcome illness. Gary Rohan and Luke Dahlhaus' early form on the track this pre-season gives them first rights to the small forward roles with Quinton Narkle's growing tank propelling him into the frame.

PRE-SEASON BATTLE: Untried inside midfielder Charlie Constable will have his eyes on Scott Selwood's role. Close to a senior debut last year, Constable has impressed on the track and with Selwood asked to play forward last in 2018, is no certainty to be in the 22. Selwood has the runs on the board and gets first crack… for now. 

B: Jed Bews, Mark Blicavs, Jack Henry
HB: Zach Tuohy, Lachie Henderson, Tom Stewart
C: Brandan Parfitt, Joel Selwood, Mitch Duncan
HF: Sam Menegola, Esava Ratugolea, Luke Dahlhaus
F: Gary Rohan, Tom Hawkins, Gary Ablett
Foll: Rhys Stanley, Patrick Dangerfield, Tim Kelly
I/C: Jake Kolodjashnij, Scott Selwood, Quinton Narkle, Cameron Guthrie

Defender depth: Harry Taylor, Zach Guthrie, Mark O'Connor, Jordan Clark, Stefan Okunbor

Forward depth: Nakia Cockatoo, Wylie Buzza, Lachie Fogarty, Nathan Kreuger, Gryan Miers, James Parsons, Jamaine Jones, Ben Jarvis, Jake Tarca, Blake Schlensog 

Midfield depth: Charlie Constable, Jordan Cunico, Tom Atkins, Oscar Brownless, Jacob Kennerley, Sam Simpson

Ruck depth: Zac Smith, Ryan Abbott, Darcy Fort

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs