Main content

Blicavs wins Carji Greeves Medal

2018 Carji Greeves Medallist The winner of the 2018 Carji Greeves Medallist has been announced

Mark Blicavs has joined a select group in becoming a multiple Carji Greeves Medallist, after claiming the 2018 Geelong Cats best & fairest.

Blicavs, who also claimed the award in 2015, polled 234 votes to narrowly win from Tim Kelly and Patrick Dangerfield, who both finished with 233.5 votes. Blicavs becomes just the 25th player in club history to win the best & fairest on multiple occasions.

The 27-year-old who has played a variety of roles since making his debut in 2012, established himself as an elite key defender in 2018. Blicavs was named in the All Australian 40 player squad after helping the Cats defence rank as the best in the AFL.

Kelly was a revelation in his first season at AFL level. After cementing a role in the Cats midfield, Kelly went on to have one of the most impressive debut seasons of any player. Already recognised by the AFLPA as best first year player, Kelly averaged 23 possessions per game in helping Geelong to the finals for the 13th time in 15 years.

Dangerfield fell just half a vote short of claiming the award for the third consecutive season. Dangerfield averaged 28 possessions and was named in the All Australian team for the sixth time in his career. 

Rounding out the top 10 was Tom Hawkins (229 votes), Joel Selwood (220.5), Mitch Duncan and Tom Stewart (216), Jake Kolodjashnij (203), Sam Menegola (200) and Zach Tuohy (194.5)

Jack Henry was named as the Cats Best Young Player. Henry made his debut in round 2 against Hawthorn, and was able to play as a key position player in both attack and defence. He did not miss a game after he debuted, appearing 22 times and earning himself a rising star nomination.

George Horlin-Smith won the Tom Harley Award as best clubman. One of the most popular players at GMHBA Stadium, Horlin-Smith was originally drafted in 2010. He debuted in the third game of the 2012 campaign and has played 51 times in the navy & white hoops. Horlin-Smith won the Norm Goss Medal in the 2012 VFL grand final in Geelong’s win.

Jamaine Jones was named club Community Champion for his work as an ambassador for Barwon Child Youth & Family’s Foster Care Campaign. Jones shared his own foster care story prior to his AFL debut in round 10, and has advocated strongly ever since. 

Jones was also recognised for his involvement in the club’s Djilang Program where he has worked alongside Traditional Land Owners and Aboriginal community members to encourage cultural connection for young people in the Barwon region.

Throughout the season, Jones has also willingly offered his time to the SEED (Sporting Excellence Education Development) program at Northern Bay Secondary Colleges where he worked with underprivileged children within the community.

‘Carji’ Greeves Medal – Top 10
1. Mark Blicavs (234 votes)
2. Patrick Dangerfield (233.5)
2. Tim Kelly (233.5)
4. Tom Hawkins (229)
5. Joel Selwood (220.5)
6. Mitch Duncan (216)
6. Tom Stewart (216)
8. Jake Kolodjashnij (203)
9. Sam Menegola (200)
10. Zach Tuohy (194.5)

Voting System
After each game the Senior Coach and assistant coaches rate each player in the AFL team’s performance out of 15.

The combined votes are then averaged to give a final score for that game.

To ensure players aren’t disadvantaged by injuries or being managed, each player’s highest scoring 21 games of the season are added together to give a final score for 2018. Therefore, if a player plays 23 games, his lowest scoring 2 games will be eliminated from the total.

Tonight’s leaderboards reflect the actual scores for each game; the adjustment is made after all games have been completed to give the final placings. 

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs