Main content

Selwood tops Cats all-time Brownlow votes

2014 Brownlow Red Carpet Watch all the action from the red carpet from the 2014 Brownlow Medal
Joel Selwood has become the highest ever Brownlow vote getter after polling 21 votes on Monday night.

Selwood in just his eighth season of football clocked up his 137th vote in the AFL’s highest honour.

He moved ahead of former midfield star Garry “Buddah” Hocking who polled 133 votes in his 15-year career.

Past Brownlow winner Jimmy Bartel has now moved to third on the all-time Cats list with 114 whilst Steve Johnson moves to number five behind Gary Ablett Jnr (112 votes as a Cat) with 106 votes.

Top 10 Cats Brownlow votes
Player Votes Seasons
Joel Selwood 137 8
Garry Hocking 133 15
Jimmy Bartel 114 13
Gary Ablett Jnr 112 9
Steve Johnson 106 13
Sam Newman 100 17
Paul Couch 99 13
Gary Ablett Snr 99 13
Joel Corey 92 14
Paul Chapman 82 14

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs