Main content

Selwood takes out second Carji

Carji Greeves Medal: Milestone Players Paul Chapman on stage at the Carji Greeves Medal
GEELONG captain Joel Selwood has won his second club best and fairest award, edging out fellow All Australians Harry Taylor and Andrew Mackie.

The 25-year-old finished 12 votes clear of Taylor, with Mackie three votes further back.

Mathew Stokes, Steven Motlop and the club's fourth All Australian for the season, Corey Enright, rounded out the top six.

Selwood received the 'Carji' Greeves Medal at a gala function held in Melbourne, which was attended by more than 1500 people on Thursday night.

The award capped off a brilliant season for Geelong's fearless leader, who was named All Australian captain and was runner-up in the Brownlow Medal, just one vote behind former teammate Gary Ablett.

He previously won the 'Carji' in 2010 and was second in 2012.

Selwood has become the 23rd player to win more than one Geelong best and fairest.

Taylor enjoyed a dominant season at both ends of the ground, establishing himself as one of the finest key-position players in the competition.

Mackie played every game for the second year running, his brilliant form earning him a place on the bench in the All Australian team.

Mackie finished the Cats' campaign with the highest tally of disposals (519), marks (156) and inside-50s (89) of his career.

Joel Selwood - 323
Harry Taylor - 311
Andrew Mackie - 308
Mathew Stokes - 307
Steven Motlop - 306
Corey Enright - 303
Jimmy Bartel - 298
Allen Christensen - 296
Mitch Duncan - 290
Tom Lonergan - 281

Ruckman Mark Blicavs won the best young player award, although he was not able to attend Thursday night's function after undergoing wrist surgery earlier in the day.

The club has revealed that Blicavs carried a cracked bone in his wrist through the latter part of the season.

The coach's award went to Steven Motlop, while the community champion award was won by Mathew Stokes.

Mark Corrigan won the VFL best and fairest.
The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs