TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Cats On Facebook



Geelong took out its first league premiership and its first senior flag since taking out VFA honours in 1886. Geelong finished the home and away season on top of the ladder with 15 wins from 17 games and played Collingwood in the grand final.

The Pivotonians jumped to an early edge, leading by three points at quarter time, 17 points at the main break and 25 points at ‘lemon’ time.

The team was confident enough at three quarter time to pose for a team photo! Collingwood stormed home to get within 10 points, but Geelong hung on to take the flag.

Geelong:         3.2, 7.8, 10.13, 10.19 (79)

Collingwood:   2.5, 4.9, 6.12, 9.15 (69)

Goals: Rankin 5, Chambers, Hagger, Hall, Heagney, Stevenson 1.

Best: Chambers, Johns, Leahy, Rankin, Rayson, Warren

Line up:

B:  Les Smith - Keith Johns - Dave Ferguson

HB: Bill Hudd - Tom Fitzmaurice - Ken Leahy

C: Edward Stevenson - Edward Greeves - Jack W Williams

HF: Arthur Rayson - George Todd - Jack Chambers

F: Cliff Rankin (cap) -  Lloyd Hagger - Sid Hall

Foll: Eric Fleming - Denis Heagney - Jim Warren

Coach: Cliff Rankin

Also played in 1925
Nick Brushfield, Arthur Coghlan, John Jones, Frank Mockridge, Frank Murrells, Jack Patterson, Arthur Pink, Charlie Plane, Vic Profitt, Wallace Sharland, Stan Thomas.