Main content

Latest CatsTV

Gary Ablett Jnr post-match (R9)

9:00pm  May 19, 2018

Chris Scott post-match (R9)

8:34pm  May 19, 2018

Zach Tuohy post-match (R9)

8:18pm  May 19, 2018

Cats v Dons highlights (R9)

8:04pm  May 19, 2018

Danger second in MVP

Dinny Navaratnam - AFL Media  September 12, 2017 9:45 PM

Patrick Dangerfield and Dustin Martin in action at Simonds Stadium in round 21 - Geelong Cats,Patrick Dangerfield

Patrick Dangerfield and Dustin Martin in action at Simonds Stadium in round 21

SUPERSTAR Richmond midfielder Dustin Martin has continued his triumphant march through the awards season after being named the AFL Players' Association Most Valuable Player.

Fresh from leading the Tigers into a preliminary final after picking up 28 disposals, nine inside 50s and six broken tackles against Geelong last Friday at the MCG, Martin finished well ahead of reigning winner Patrick Dangerfield. 

Martin tallied 1333 votes, more than 500 ahead of Dangerfield on 776. Out-of-contract Greater Western Sydney gun Josh Kelly rounded out the top three with 416.

Adelaide star Rory Sloane was fourth on 267 while the Coleman medallist, Sydney's Lance Franklin, had 215 votes.

Dangerfield tallied 1369 when he won the MVP last year, while Fremantle jet Nat Fyfe picked up 1455 in 2015.

Martin was presented the Leigh Matthews Trophy at a function in Melbourne's Docklands on Tuesday night.

"It's an honour to be named MVP by the guys I play with, and against every week. I'm incredibly humbled by this," Martin said.

He played every match in the home and away season and averaged 30 disposals while booting 32 goals. 

Dangerfield had another superb campaign, missing just one match for the home and away season and averaging 30 disposals while slotting 38 goals.

AFLPA CEO Paul Marsh paid credit to Martin, who dealt with plenty of scrutiny after only a fortnight ago signing a multi-million dollar contract to stay at Richmond. 

"In a year where Dusty has dealt with a lot of off-field noise, he's managed to not only block it out, but take his game to another level, wowing us all with his power, skill and poise under pressure," Marsh said.

"Dusty has performed at an incredibly high standard week-in, week-out this season and being named the most valuable player by his peers will no doubt be one of many awards he receives for his exceptional year."

The MVP is voted for in two stages, with each player nominating three teammates to take out the award to create a list of 54 nominees. Every player then votes for their 3-2-1, with voting for teammates not allowed.

Sloane didn't leave the night empty-handed after being considered the League's most courageous player ahead of Geelong skipper Joel Selwood and Greater Western Sydney hard nut Callan Ward. 

Adelaide forward Taylor Walker was named the best captain, in front of Sydney midfielder Josh Kennedy and Selwood in third.

Essendon defender Andrew McGrath backed up his NAB AFL Rising Star by winning the best first-year player award, with Port Adelaide brute Sam Powell-Pepper and Carlton dynamo Sam Petrevski-Seton rounding out the top three.

AFLPA MVP results

Most Valuable Player - Leigh Matthews Trophy
1. Dustin Martin (Rich) – 1333 votes
2. Patrick Dangerfield (Geel) – 776
3. Josh Kelly (GWS) – 416
4. Rory Sloane (Adel) – 267
5. Lance Franklin (Syd) – 215 

Most Courageous
1. Rory Sloane (Adel) – 188 votes
2. Joel Selwood (Geel) – 133
3. Callan Ward (GWS) – 89
4. Luke Hodge (Haw) – 77
5. Dale Morris (WB) – 71

Best First-year Player
1. Andrew McGrath (Ess) – 274 votes
2. Sam Powell-Pepper (PA) – 250
3. Sam Petrevski-Seton (Carl) – 48
4. Will Hayward (Syd) – 35
5. Tom Stewart (Geel) – 25

Best Captain
1. Taylor Walker (Adel) – 140 votes
2. Josh Kennedy (Syd) – 125
3. Joel Selwood (Geel) – 100
4. Jarryd Roughead (Haw) – 87
5. Robert Murphy (WB) – 46